Light on the Zambezi

28 07 2009

Light on the Zambezi

Today began and ended with different light on the Zambezi River. As the morning clouds were starting to dissipate, I headed back to Mosi-Oa-Tunya, Victoria Falls, to see them in the morning light. I think this did help bring out some more color in the pictures. It also made the rainbows in different places. I love rainbows. There was something great about the double rainbows in the mist of the falls.

Along the Gorge

Along the Gorge

Rainbows in the Gorge

Rainbows in the Gorge

Center falls

Center falls

Center West Falls

Center West Falls

I just explored the falls from different angles. I did find the trail that gave one a different view of the falls and the river outlet. Unfortunately, because this trail was in the outskirts of the park and without many people, the obnoxious marketers who sneak into the park would not leave me alone. I brought a few crafts just to get rid of them. Maybe this helped me build up resistance to all craft booths just outside the park gate. I brought a little, but not much.

Across from falls

Across from falls

Boiling Pot from Above

Boiling Pot from Above

Across from falls

Across from falls

Across from Falls closer

Across from Falls closer

Through the Outlet

Through the Outlet

River Outlet

River Outlet

At the end of the trail

At the end of the trail

Craft stall

Craft stall

On my way out of the park I met Boswell, a wood carver from Mukuni Village, a traditional village a little ways out of town. Boswell helped me get a bus into town. I hope I get back from my mini-safari early enough tomorrow to get to his village.

I explored downtown Livingstone only a little because I had to get to the bank to get US dollars for the safari tomorrow. I had to at minimum change enough Kwacha for $100. This left me without any Kwachas. None of the ATMs would take my debit card. I finally found a bank that would cash traveler’s checks. I waited in line for over 1 ½ hours. It was getting very close to the time I needed to be back for the evening cruise on the Zambezi. When I finally got to a teller, she could not cash my travelers’ checks without proof of purchase, which was back in the room. Fortunately, I could get money out from the teller on my debit card. Banking is very slow in a primarily cash economy. Although waiting in line was very stressful, it was interesting to see third world banking. People were coming in with bags of cash to deposit. Others were leaving with a great deal of cash.

Livingstone Market

Livingstone Market

Livingstone Downtown

Livingstone Downtown

From the bank I ran back about 1-2 kilometers to the lodge. I got there about five minutes before my ride arrived. I quickly washed and changed my shirt and then headed out for an evening cruise on the Zambezi. They did take credit cards, so I did not need the extra cash.

The cruise was pleasant and calm. We only saw a few animals, but it was interesting to see the hippos swimming in the river and on the shore. I now know from experience why hippopotamus is Greek for “river horse.” It was good to experience the Zambezi in the evening light. At this point I started to miss my wife, Dawn, the most. This is exactly the type of activity she would love.

On African Princess

On African Princess

The Zambezi

The Zambezi

Swimming Hippo

Swimming Hippo

Hippos on shore

Hippos on shoreBefore the sunset

Zambezi Sun

Zambezi Sun

Sundown

SundownTwilight on the Zambezi

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 07 2009
Dan Hendriksen, Sr.

How very beautiful !! We eagerly read you daily logs and Photos. We lived through your experiences each day. And now we pray for a very safe and restful travel home. Love, Mom and Dad

27 05 2011
Julie Vogel

I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. cheers

10 05 2014
support.greenmonkeys.com

support.greenmonkeys.com

Light on the Zambezi | Biblical Studies Ambassador

17 05 2014
おしゃれ

おしゃれ

Light on the Zambezi | Biblical Studies Ambassador

19 05 2014
http://bit.ly/1m36S9z

People that are concerned about sports news only,
select reading these newspapers. When you might be quiet
about your winnings, you are able to keep your money.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

