African Animal Warm-up

27 07 2009

African Animal Warm-up

If you are reading this, you probably saw that I got a couple of hours of internet time this morning to post my blogs with pictures.  Since not much else was happening around Justo Mwale, I went out to Laliya, a small game lodge about 25 km south of Lusaka.  I figured I could check out this option for students in the future and have a safari warm-up for Livingstone.

Laliya Lodge

Laliya Lodge

I arrived just after noon, and the hourly game drive had just left.  For the next hour I took my own walking safari, after I made sure it was safe.  In a large open cut meadow there were a herd of Puku, medium antelope mostly only in Zambia.  I thought it must be normal for them to be there, but later the guide told me that this was unusual.  I got close enough to get their attention, but not to spook them.  Back at the lodge I had my first encounter with the warthog.

Bush Safari walk Laliya

Bush Safari walk Laliya

Puku Antelope at Laliya

Puku Antelope at Laliya

Puku Closer

Puku Closer

Warthog encounter

Warthog encounter

For the 1:00 game drive I found out that I was the only one going that that time.  I was afraid I would have to wait until 2:00, but no, I had a personal safari tour.  We did not see anything for the first 20 minutes.  Then we saw two giraffes at a salt lick.  From there we moved to see zebras and another animal, of which I do not remember the name.  Then we turned around to see the giraffes on the move and five other ones in the distance.

Private Game Drive with Sonate

Private Game Drive with Sonate

Giraffes at salt lick

Giraffes at salt lick

Zebras and others

Zebras and others

Zebra Lookout

Zebra Lookout

Plain Giraffe

Plain Giraffe

Across the road we saw two other warthogs running through the bush.  Then there was a small bushbuck antelope in the trees.  Soon there was a large Kudo in another thicket of trees, and then we returned to the Puku.

Bushbuck

Bushbuck

Kudo Hidden

Kudo Hidden

While I waited for my ride to return, I walked down to see the Puku again and then watched the warthog lawn mower.

Warthog lawn mower

Warthog lawn mower

I returned to the Pilgrim Wesleyan guest house, so I could walk to the bus stop in the morning.  I had not eaten much all day, so I went back to Cairo Road.  I was not in an adventurous mode I this point.  I got a foot-long sub from Subway.  I figured I could eat half now and the other half on the long bus ride tomorrow.  On the way back I also stopped at Shoprite for some water and snacks for tomorrow.  I found out that the other Shoprite was closed because of an employee strike for better paid for long term employees.

Lunch Dinner Breakfast

Lunch Dinner Breakfast

Shoprite

Shoprite

This was a good starter.  I am expecting even greater animal and natural adventures in Livingstone.  There I should be able to post this with pictures.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 07 2009
Dan Hendriksen, Sr.

Animals that Henri and Bill have often seen in the zoo are added to here and appear in the wild – a view hardly matched by scenes in the wild animal acreage through which viewers travel in miniature trains in certain of our states. Not long ago Henri was big on warthogs, and now he can see ones that Uncle Tom ran across in far away Africa…as other animals that are also often different from those found in our zoos come into view. Is there a zebra as big as one seen here in the Los Angeles Zoo? I thought I saw one about that size there. Anyway, we can all continue to see these fine pictures for as long as we are able. They are truly for adults as well as for kids. Much thanks, Uncle Tom!

Love,

Mom and Dad

25 09 2013
Biro Jasa

It’s really a nice and helpful piece of info.
I’m happy that you simply shared this useful info with us.
Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

